GMPR Exclusive: Jazette K. – The “Upgrade Artist”

Hair has become a staple for women. If it’s not effortlessly blowing in the wind with tamed silky smooth edges and perfect shine somehow the universe just seems off. If you don’t DIY, every woman prays for a stylist that can transform her hair don’t into a hair DO. Jazette K. is a hairstylist that gets it and women are lining up to sit in her salon chair.

With an appointment book that fills up pretty quick, Jazette K. has managed to turn her college apartment salon into a booming brand. Jazette was and still is the “go-to girl” on the campus of Hampton University. Though she still finds time to visit VA and service her college clients, she is beating the pavement in NYC. Learn more about Jazette in this exclusive Girl Meets PR interview.

GMPR: How did get your start?
Jazette K. : College! My undergrad years were the jump-start of my career. I was THE “go-to” girl for everything Hair. Parties, Special Events, Spring Break, you name it! At one point, I was running something like a Full Salon out of my apartment. Even with the local salons near by, it was cool to come to 4C and get your hair done.

While in college, how did you turn your skills into a brand?
Easy, My Team! I have amazing friends that were and still are super supportive. We would actually sit around my apartment and have meetings, kicking ideas around about my brand, my logo, fashion shows and hair shows, all of that. I’ve always been extremely strategic and I’ve been blessed with an ultra talented group of friends that really hold me down.

After graduating, how has your career progressed?
I wouldn’t trade my college years but I am so happy about where I am in my career right now! This past year was totally challenging, yet one thousand percent worth it. I’m back in NY working at Serenity Salon in Midtown, Manhattan and traveling to Hampton, Virginia once a month to service my clients at Textures Salon, make sure to look out for that schedule. I’ve had opportunities to go to a couple of Hair Shows, do a few Photo-Shoots, brush shoulders with celebrity stylist that I respect in the industry, revamp my brand, and grow my clientele all while enjoying life! That’s progression!

Do you specialize in anything?
People call me an “Upgrade Artist”, no matter what you get done, it will be nothing less than amazing, and you’ll feel nothing less than amazing! I put my heart in everything I touch, so everything is special. If I had to narrow it down, I’d say healthy hair for sure, and hair extensions without a doubt.
Why hair styling and what does it mean to you?
I have no idea why and I won’t question God but it means a lot to me, mostly because I know how much it means to my clients. When I have a client in the chair we really bond. I can vibe off them and feel the importance of their hair. The health, the styling, their day-to-day concerns. It means a lot to me to know that I can make it a little easier for you to get ready to take on the world every morning.
You seem to find life in hair! Why do you think hair is so important for a woman?
I believe that Hair is the ultimate accessory. It truly speaks volume to a woman’s character. How a woman chooses to wear her hair directly reflects her character. It’s important to me to be able to extract those qualities so that us Women can look as good on the outside as we feel on the inside.
What do you hope your clients take away when they leave your chair?
Oh man, a lot. Of course I send them home with a load of at home hair care and maintenance tips, a list of products and tools and an ear-full of Do’s and Don’ts but the one thing that I always pray my clients will take away from my chair is a sense of security. I want all of them to always feel they are in good hands and be worry free. Us women have so much on our plates! It’s nice to know I can relieve a little bit of stress.

What motivates you?
What? Nothing. Who…my Mom. Shes ill. Never met a woman like her in my LIFE. My mom has this drive about her that makes my drive look weak, and we know I’m a go getter! She works so hard. I really just want to set her up so she can chill, luxuriously.
What are some of your greatest achievements thus far?
The list can go on. The one that really does it for me…my Bachelors Degree from Hampton University. Mid way through college I knew I wanted to make a career out of being the best Hair Stylist anyone has ever met. It took A LOT for me to continue to go to class, write papers and do homework after I figured that out.

What is your ultimate career goal?
My ultimate career goal…to change lives. God has blessed me with something truly special, I know that he has way more in store for me than Hair. I’ll have to take it how i comes

Your blog was great! What made you want to transition from a blog to a website?
Thanks Melissa! For real, just the growth of my career. I’m maturing as a Hair Stylist and Entrepreneur and with that certain things just phase out. I’ve replaced it with my Facebook Fan page (facebook.com/JazetteKHair) and a new Twitter account (@JazetteKHair).

What will the new website feature?
The new site (www.JazetteK.com) is going to be where you go for everything Jazette K. Links to make an appointment with me, some of the tools and products I use, a few tips and tricks, special offers, we all love those, and a couple of surprises so please check it out!
When will the website be launching?
October 3,2011. That’s my mom’s birthday. Hey girl
Are you doing anything special for the launch of JazetteK.com?
I’m planning an evening with close friends, family and my clients of course. It’s the first big bang to my business. I couldn’t imagine doing anything other than laughing, eating and sharing the moment with people who helped me make it possible.

How is social media and public relations helping you reach your goals?
Social Media is crazy! With the push of a button the world becomes your audience. It’s like a show. I’m just making sure my ratings stay high.
After the website launch, what’s next for Jazette K.?
I’m releasing “Jazette K. Virgin Hair Extensions” and “Jazette K. Premium Virgin Hair Extensions” January 2012. I am really excited about it!

You can find Jazette at:
Serenity Salon

18 W 33rd Street
New York, NY

Textures Salon
555 Settlers Landing
Hampton, VA

Contact Jazette:
info@JazetteK.com
appointments@JazetteK.com
Facebook: Jazette K. Hair
Twitter: @JazetteKHair
www.JazetteK.com
JazetteDoesMyHair.tumblr.com

Girl Meets PR congratulates Jazette on all of her success and wishes her the best with all future endeavors.


Posted on August 31, 2011, in Interview, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jazette I am so proud of you. I love your name Jazette K. I always knew you were somebody special. You found your niche at a young age. It can take some of us years to do that. May God bless you every step of the way. I know your mother is a moviating force. How unique, for you to launch your website on your mother’s birthday.

    Love you,
    Aunt Liz

Leave a Reply

